Friday, February 26, 2016

Tony Patterson "Equations of Meaning"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Label: Esoteric Antenna
Format: CD
Release date: February 26, 2016
  1. Ghosts
  2. The Magdalene Fields
  3. Each Day a Colour
  4. Cast Away
  5. The Angel and the Dreamer (i.vision, ii. journey, iii. reprise)
  6. Beneath a Perfect Sky
  7. Sycophant
  8. And When the Sky Was Opened
  9. Pilgrim
  10. As the Lights Go Out
  11. The Kindest Eyes

Tony Patterson (ReGenesis, Nick Magnus, John Hackett): vocals, piano, keyboards, guitars, orchestrations, flutes, programming, extras
Nick Magnus (Steve Hackett, John Hackett): programming (2, 11), keyboards and programming (3)
Andy Gray: guitar solo (7)
Brendan Eyre (Nine Stones Close, Riversea): piano (10)
Adrian Jones (Nine Stones Close): slide guitar and guitar solo (11)
Doug Melbourne: mopho synth solo (5)
Siobhan Magnus: vocals (5)
Fred Arlington: horn and sax (9), sax (2), horn (5)

Continuing on from the success of the album Northlands (released in 2014 with Brendan Eyre), Equations of Meaning combines beautiful soundscapes with heartfelt, wistful songs dealing with such subjects as loss, longing and even a cynical observation of social media. The album features guest artists including Nick Magnus, Brendan Eyre, Andy Gray, Adrian Jones, Doug Melbourne and Fred Arlington and is a fine, melodic Progressive album.
Also read track-by-track review by Martin Hutchinson at progradar.org


Web page
Album's web page
Progarchives (Patterson - Eyre)
Proggnosis (Patterson - Eyre)

No comments :

Post a Comment