Friday, February 12, 2016

Persona "Elusive Reflections"

Country: Tunisia
Genre(s): Progressive Metal
Format: CD, digital
Release date: February 12, 2016
1. Somebody Else (3:59)
2. Blinded (4:10)
3. Forgotten (5:01)
4. Halley (3:35)
5. Ageless (4:42)
6. Torn (4:01)
7. Monsters (5:03)
8. He Kills Me More (5:54)
9. Persona (5:11)
10. The Sea Of Fallen Stars (4:25)

Total time 46:01

Jelena Dobric : Lead & Backing Vocals
Melik Melek Khelifa : Lead Guitar
Yosri Ouada : Rhythm Guitar
Youssef Aouadi : Drums
Walid Bessadok : Keyboard
Nesrine Mahbouli : Bass

Personally I can't think of a better album to do this with as Elusive Reflections is exactly what you would want from a band such as Persona, it blends chunky progressive metal with synth driven symphonics and Middle Eastern/North African influences so if you think Orphaned Land meets Within Temptation you'd be on the right track. As the album starts off we get the Arabic touches from the off on Somebody Else which moves into the excellent Blinded which sounds very like Ms Den Adel and co all blastbeat drums, heavy riffs and flowing synths underpinning everything. This track shows off founder member and lead guitarist Melik Melek Khelifa's slick lead playing, which is one of the album's strongest points, the solos are used sparingly adding some melodic flourishes to the songs.

Read the full review at musipediaofmetal.blogspot.com



No comments :

Post a Comment