Friday, February 19, 2016

Nicklas Sørensen "Solo"

Country: Denmark
Genre(s): Instrumental Psychedelic 
Label: El Paraiso Records
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release date: February 19, 2016
1. Solo 1 (6:49)
2. Solo 2 (6:42)
3. Solo 3 (6:49)
4. Solo 4 (7:18)
5. Solo 5 (7:23)
6. Solo 6 (12:03)

Total Time 47:04

Nicklas Sørensen (Papir) - Guitars, Synthesizer
Jonas Munk (Causa Sui) - Additional Synthesizer & Electronics (1, 3-6)
Christian Becher Clausen (Papir) - Bass
Christoffer Brøchmann Christensen (Papir) - Drums, Percussion

 The record features 6 track, 3 per side and starts off with Solo1 and it features some nice melodic guitar over a steady Christian/Christoffer groove. Jonas layers in some organ as well filling in the bottom of the sound but still allowing the guitar parts to lead.  Nice track with some repeated themes. In the end it builds up a lot like a Papir track but with out the intense lead guitar. The spacey keyboard part sort of increases instead for a real dreamy feel. Solo 2 is a quite slow piece with drums and bass and a slow gliding guitar line. This is a very peaceful piece of music. Solo3 starts with a really cool looped guitar and then Nicklas comes in with another melodic line over the top. You can just hear the high hat (I think) but no other drums yet. Eventually a bass line joins the track and then a repetitive keyboard line. The track grows as a new looped guitar is started but the keyboards grow to dominate this track with Nicklas almost disappearing for a while.  There are no real drums per se. Lots of looped Krauty stuff.

Read the full review by  Scott aka. Dr. Space at writingaboutmusic.blogspot.com



No comments :

Post a Comment