Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Tom Doncourt "The Moon Will Rise"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Label: Phosphorescent Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: November 11, 2015
1. Diorama (4:43)
2. First (0:13)
3. The Curtain (4:24)
4. A Trip To Oregon, Pt. 1 (2:55)
5. April (3:55)
6. Secret River (3:56)
7. Moon And Sixpence (4:18)
8. A Trip To Oregon, Pt. 2 (2:28)
9. Skeletons Of Penn Station (3:37)
10. Maps (5:13)
11. Torn (5:11)
12. A Trp To Oregon, Pt. 3 (9:23)

Total time 50:16

Tom Doncourt - synths, pianos, organs, Jennings Univox, lap steel, mellotron
Eunice Wong - vocals
Cassandra Jenkins - vocals
Michael J Wookey - vocals
Mattias Olsson - drums and percussion
Chuck Bernklau - bass

After the success of “the Mortal Coil” Tom returned to the studio to expand his explorations into the progressive song form. Drummer/percussionist Mattias Olsson was brought in again in a greater capacity to “reinterpret” the music’s rhythms. Chuck Bernklau contributes his distinct bass sound on several tracks.
Most of the songs sprang up from lyrical ideas and very special vocals were needed. These were provided by Eunice Wong, Cassandra Jenkins and Michael J. Wookey. Each singer is considerably different, unique and dramatic in their own way, providing a necessary “narrative” quality. The songs are meant to tell stories, transport the listener.
Tom plays synths, electric and acoustic pianos, organs, Jennings Univox, lap steel. The Streetly M4000 mellotron joins his M400 and Chamberlin for a new palette of tape based sounds.
"The Moon Will Rise” is poetic and fresh- alternative, while still being steeped in the magic of psychedelic and early progressive sound, something particular to the work of Tom Doncourt and his Translucent Thinking Project.



No comments :

Post a Comment