Friday, November 6, 2015

The Skys "Journey Through The Skies"

Country: Lithuania
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Format: CD, digital
Release date: November 6, 2015
1. One Saturday Of The Spring (2:51)
2. The Rain (2:53)
3. This Is What You've Got (2:48)
4. Take A Look Inside (0:37)
5. The Ancient Indian's Song (4:45)
6. Should Stop Now (4:13)
7. The Wings Of The Night (3:02)
8. Dreams (5:23)
9. Broken Sounds Of Truth (3:40)
10. Virtual Reality (4:57)
11. Is This The Way? (3:53)
12. Love Of Life (6:16)

Total time 45:18

Jonas Čiurlionis – vocals and lead guitar
Božena Buinicka – keyboards and vocals
Aleksandr Liutvinskij – rhythm guitar
Justinas Tamaševičius – bass
Ilja Molodcov - drums
Snowy White (Roger Waters) – guitar
Robert Townsend (Steve Hackett) – sax
Kyla Wight – back vocals

So they’ve got pedigree and they’ve also got form, if you’re looking for some atmospheric Pink Floyd sounds.  It’s stately and melodic, and they’ve even managed to bag Pink Floyd sideman, Snowy White, for some tasty guitar work on ‘Should Stop Now’ and ‘Love Of Life’.
You’ll be glad to know that there is a loose concept running through the album, which deals with escapism, so you can tick that off your prog list.  It’s beautifully presented as well, and goes to remind you that you can make a CD an object of desire.  It’s one of the better prog albums I’ve heard this year, and should be near the top of any self-respecting progsters buy list. (therocker65.wordpress.com)


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment