Friday, November 6, 2015

Austarus "Prisoners Of Sunlight"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive Rock/Metal
Format: CD, digital
Release dateNovember 6, 2015
1. Deserter (7:09)
2. Thrones (7:34)
3. Refractions (2:36)
4. Threshold (6:07)
5. Ossify (4:36)
6. Fractures (10:05)
7. Reflections (1:48)
8. Seaworthy (7:46)

Total time 47:41

John Becker: Electric & acoustic guitars, violin, viola, analog synthesizers, vocals
Adam Hansen: Drums, percussion, vocals
Shane Hill: Electric, acoustic, and classical guitars
Jeremy Eberhard: Synthesizers, Yamaha CP-80d piano
Richard Stancato: Electric bass, electric fretless bass

While there is rocky terrain and explosive sections, so much of this record make it feel like I’m catapulting through the clouds, on my way to the sun. Violence isn’t on the tip of my tongue. Instead, I find I’m stretching my mind and immersing myself in the band’s liquidy passages. While post-black metal remains a part of the band’s base, they’ve really pushed much further on this record, fully embracing soaring prog rock, jazzy sounds, and also some stormy weather to keep you aware of your surroundings. 
 Read the full review by Brian Krasman at meatmeadmetal.wordpress.com



No comments :

Post a Comment