Friday, November 6, 2015

Billy Sherwood "Citizen"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Rock
LabelFrontiers Music Srl
FormatCD, digital
Release dateNovember 6, 2015
  1. The Citizen - 6:34
  2. Man and the Machine - 6:44
  3. Just Galileo and Me - 5:01
  4. No Mans Land - 5:35
  5. The Great Depression - 8:40
  6. Empire - 5:34
  7. Age of the Atom - 6:23
  8. Trail of Tears - 6:28
  9. Escape Velocity - 6:03
  10. A Theory All It's Own - 5:32
  11. Written in the Centuries - 7:20
Billy Sherwood (Yes, Circa:): drums, bass, guitar, keyboards, vocals
Rick Wakeman (Yes):  keyboards (5)
Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater):  keyboards (9)
Tony Kaye (Yes, Circa:):  keyboards & Hammond Organ (1)
Geoff Downes (Yes, Asia, DBA): keyboards (7)
Chris Squire (Yes, Squackett):  bass (1)
Steve Hackett (Genesis, Squackett):  guitar solo (2)
Jerry Goodman (The Mahavishnu Orchestra):  violin (6)
Steve Morse (Deep Purple, Dixie Dregs, Flying Colors):  guitar (4)
Patrick Moraz (Yes, The Moody Blues):  keyboards (8)
John Wesley (Porcupine Tree): guitar (10)
Colin Moulding (XTC): vocals (3)
Alan Parsons: vocals (6)
Jon Davison (Yes, Glass Hammer): vocals (11)

My main impression is that “Citizen” is a well made and excellently produced concept album,  in terms of style residing somewhere in the neo-progressive oriented parts of the symphonic progressive rock universe. The main focus is on melodies and harmonies, and with the lead vocals given a lot of the limelight here. Which isn’t all that unexpected presumably, as a concept is explored and stories are told. Those with a general taste for compelling, well made and well produced albums that arguably may be placed somewhere close to a neo progressive context comes across as a key audience for this album in my book.
Read the full review by Olav Martin Bjørnsen at houseofprog.com

The Citizen
Just Galileo And Me
No Man’s Land

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment