Friday, February 24, 2017

O.R.k. "Soul Of An Octopus"

Country: UK/Italy
Genre(s)Progressive Rock
Label: RareNoise Records
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: February 24, 2017
1. Too Numb (3:54)
2. Collapsing Hopes (4:39)
3. Searching For The Code (4:03)
4. Dirty Rain (5:06)
5. Scarlet Water (4:13)
6. Heaven Proof House (4:26)
7. Just Another Bad Day (4:11)
8. Capture Or Reveal (4:49)
9. Till The Sunrise Comes (5:21)

Total time 40:42

Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari (aka Lef) - vocals, keys
Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree) - bass
Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson) - drums
Carmelo Pipitone - guitars

Because of the presence of drummer Mastelotto, it would be easy to draw comparisons to King Crimson for this project. (The opener “Too Numb” in particular has a kind of Discipline vibe in its interlocking ostinatos that create a hypnotic latticework pattern against Fornasari’s menacing vocals). One can also hear traces of such artistically inclined groups as Pink Floyd in ambitious tunes like “Scarlet Water,” “Just Another Bad Day” and the extraordinary “Capture or Reveal.” But O.R.k. draws on a myriad of other influences throughout Soul of an Octopus that encompass prog-rock and even bits of opera, as can be heard in Fornasari’s dramatic and wide-ranging vocals on tunes like the intense closer “Till the Sunrise Comes” and the epic “Dirty Rain.”
Read the full description at rarenoiserecords.com

Too Numb
Collapsing Hopes

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment