Friday, October 7, 2016

Grimény "Die große Enttäuschung"

Country: Germany
Genre(s): Instrumental Math Rock, Post Rock, Psychedelic, Space Rock
Label: Already Dead Tapes
Format: cassette, digital
Release date: October 7, 2016
1. Remény (4:20)
2. Dear Miners (1:11)
3. Raubbau (6:24)
4. Viktoriastadt (2:20)
5. Űgynök Túra (6:25)
6. Letter I (1:04)
7. Dreymeny (8:43)
8. Guenhwyvar (6:08)
9. Tükl-12 (7:40)
10. Letter II (1:08)
11. Der Gelbe Schrecken (10:34)

Total time 55:57

Falk Meutzner - Guitars, Bass
Nico Vetter - Guitars, Bass
Torsten Lang - Drums, Synth, Sax
Carel Struycken, Larissa Blau, Maria la Portuguesa - Voices

Though they hail from Deutschland, Grimény’s sound is more akin to the American space and math rock of the 1990s like Tortoise, Don Caballero, Trans Am and Ui. However, Grimény’s approach eschews the electronic and jazz elements of those acts in favor of a fairly straight ahead guitar/bass/drums attack, albeit FX-drenched, occasionally producing noisier ambient sections on those same instruments... Otherwise, this is a nonstop barrage of instrumentation. The constant sense of tension throughout provides an unrelenting despair that befits the title and theme. It is in their sheer stamina that Grimény fall closest to their elder German brethren of Can and Neu!, but otherwise this has little in common with Krautrock, although some of these tracks, such as the finale “Der gelbe Schrecken,” would make great film scores, something that German acts such as Tangerine Dream and Popol Vuh were known to produce in the 1970s and ‘80s.  (Peter Cook at Bandcamp)



No comments :

Post a Comment