Friday, October 7, 2016

FOES "The Summit Lies Skyward"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Alternative, Progressive Rock
Label: Basick Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: October 7, 2016
1. The Choir Invisible (4:41)
2. Young Sovereign (3:55)
3. Beautiful Fiction (4:27)
4. No Sleepers Verse (5:36)
5. Sworn Host (4:14)
6. From Stillness Came Slow Bloom (6:42)
7. Orchestrator (4:41)
8. Brothers Mortal (4:39)
9. In Standing Vigil (5:14)
10. Pin Feather (5:25)
11. The Everest (5:35)

Total time 55:09

Chris Mackrill - vocals
Joe Danher -guitars
Josh Catchpole -
James Lorenzo - drums

‘Beautiful Fiction’ returns to more progressive territory. A contender for standout track of the album, James Lorenzo’s Neal Peart-esq drumming meshing perfectly with Mackrill and Joe Danher’s swooping guitars.
It’s a precision groove of which the likes of Rush, Karnivool and – more recently – Dream the Electric Sleep would be proud, and proves the perfect foil for the brooding ‘No Sleepers Verse’, conjuring up as it does a smoldering scorched Earth soundscape for the hard of sleeping.
Read the full review by Jonathon Hopper at rocknreelreviews.com



No comments :

Post a Comment