Friday, July 1, 2016

Lanfear "The Code Inherited"

Country: Germany
Genre(s): Progressive Power Metal
Label: Pure Legend Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: July 1, 2016
1. The Delusionist (4:30)
2. The Opaque Hourglass (4:50)
3. Evidence Based Ignorance (5:20)
4. The Code Inherited (10:45)
5. Self-Assembled (5:21)
6. Converging Saints (4:00)
7. Remain Undone (6:33)
8. Summer Of '89 (4:36)

Total time 45:55

Nuno Miguel de Barros Fernandes - vocals
Richard Seibel - keyboards
Markus Ullrich - guitars
Jürgen Schrank - drums
Kai Schindelar - bass

Now, I must admit, I was a bit put off at the start with The Delusionist, a rather harsh sounding song with vocalist Nuno Miguel de Barros Fernandes taking a shot at adding dirty/death vocals. (He get a little raw in the latter half of Converging Saints.) But we recover with the following The Opaque Hourglass and Evidence Based Ignorance, both returning to the foundation of melodic metal and superb vocal harmonies. Those songs and also Converging Saints display Lanfear's trademark sharp and brisk riffage, adding accent to the sometimes galloping rhythm section. Of course, guitarist Markus Ullrich offers an abundance blistering leads throughout, another Lanfear highlight.
Read the full review by Craig Hartranft at dangerdog.com

The Opaque Hourglass

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment