Monday, December 15, 2014

Saul Blease "Daybreak"

Country: UK
Genre(s)Progressive Rock
FormatCD, digital
Release dateDecember 15, 2014
  1. Everything Is About To Change (2:16)
  2. Bleeding Soul (5:28)
  3. Falling (3:14)
  4. Blue Monday (6:43)
  5. Where Were You? (8:00)
  6. Break of Day (4:37)
  7. Seasons (5:23)
  8. The Other Me (5:09)
  9. Where Is My Mind? (4:04)
  10. Goodbye (1:59)
Saul Blease - everything

The opening track, Everything is about to Change has a foreboding introduction featuring multi-layered keyboards. The piece later follows a more predictable pattern, that is present to some extent in a number of tracks, as guitars break through to provide a heavier tone and rock ambience.
Falling is an enjoyable track which incorporates different styles wrapped up in its traditional song structure. It begins with a bright guitar passage and an insistent rhythm. It is one of the more appealing vocal tracks of the album. It also has a particularly pleasing chorus. Interest is maintained throughout the piece by the effective use of vocal effects, and at its conclusion, by spoken words.
Where Were You? is the longest composition of the album. It is a pleasant, if at times predictable anthem-like tune that features a number of different characteristics and musical patterns. This piece highlights Blease's AOR songwriting credentials, whilst at the same time showcasing his apparent penchant for inventive progressive rock, in its surprisingly creative and enjoyable middle section. 
 Read the full review by Owen Davies at dprp.net


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment