Friday, December 5, 2014

Sarpedon "Anomic Nation"

Country: Norway
Genre(s)Progressive Metal / Power Metal
LabelInverse Records
FormatCD, digital
Release dateDecember 5, 2014
01. Anomic Nation (06:02)
02. The Lusk Letter (05:07)
03. The Claustrophober (06:19)
04. Dead Birds (04:22)
05. A Seed Of Evil (05:01)
06. The Carnival (06:43)
07. My Mysteries Unwind – Part I (03:14)
08. My Mysteries Unwind – Part II (09:45)

Carl M. Engstrøm - Drums
Torgeir P. Krokfjord - Guitars, Bass
Eirik P. Krokfjord - Vocals, Keyboards
Andreas Wærholm - Keyboards

The title track starts things off and the first thing to hit you, after the initial riffery, speeding the song straight in, is vocal, full of drama and meaning – rather than just pure vocals, there is so much more to the singing Krokfjord sibling's voice. His message comes across at the deepest level, lyrics not the main medium. That isn't to discount the lyrical content but where a lot are totally reliant on them to communicate, this guy isn't.
Musically it is a very strong opener, fast thundering drums which would result in whiplash if any more raucous, guitar keeping up and issuing its own roar. This song also has more than one section, vocals changing to match, guitar diving off into the more classic arena half way through. Given their influences, not a surprising sound totally but it is done very well, drama increasing throughout.
 Read the full review by Roger Berzerk Fauske at metaltalk.net

Anomic Nation


No comments :

Post a Comment