Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Varga "Enter the Metal"

Country: Canada
Sub GenreProgressive Metal
Label: Self-released
Release dateOctober 30, 2013

  1. Beginning of the End 6:19
  2. Gamera 7:52
  3. Mad Scientist 5:37
  4. Plane Crash 8:01
  5. No More Clean Air 4:59
  6. Shark Attack 6:59
Adam Alex - guitar
Dan Fila - drums
Joe Varga - bass and vocals
Sean Williamson - guitar

During the late 80’s and early 90’s, Varga was one of the better Canadian metal acts to find success on a major label and getting heavy rotation on Much Music. They played a hybrid style of prog/thrash/industrial metal, releasing the album Prototype in 1993 and Oxygen in 1996 before leaving the metal scene behind.
The members of the band went on their separate ways, continuing to perform in various other projects until reuniting in 2012. The group recently entered the studio with producer Julius Butty (Hypodust) to record 6 new songs that hark back to their progressive/thrash metal roots. The album is appropriately called Enter the Metal and that is exactly what you get here; 6 tracks of progressive metal, crazy time changes, a plethora of riffs and multi-layered vocals to top it all off.
Read the full review by Kenneth Gallant at horrormetalsounds.com
Beginning of the end

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment