Monday, October 28, 2013

The Earls of Mars "The Earls of Mars"

Country: UK
Sub GenreEclectic, Psychedelic, Progressive Rock/Metal
LabelCandlelight Records
Release dateOctober 28, 2013
1. Poor Whores' Petition - 02:44
2. The Swinger - 04:50
3. The Astronomer Pig - 05:59
4. Cornelius Itchybah - 06:41
5. Otto The Magnificent - 03:31
6. The Ballad Of Ben Ayre - 02:34
7. The Last Glass Eye-Maker - 07:13
8. Some Place - 02:05
9. The Mirrored Staircase - 05:01
10. Mr Osbornes' Hazelnuts - 01:23

Harry Armstrong - Voices & Pianos
Dan Hardingham - Guitars and Other Lesser Known Instruments
Si McCarthy - Upright Basses and Accordions
Dave Newman - Drums and Percussion

Despite all of those influences, though, “The Earls of Mars” is probably the most original thing you’ll hear all year. At their heart, the band are a 70’s-influenced rock band bringing together jazz, prog, space rock, doom and blues and forming it into a barking mad noise that you’ll either get or you won’t. If you don’t get it then close the door on your way out of the spaceship, as those of us who want to stay are off on a fantastical journey to who-knows-where, with The Earls of Mars steering the ship. 
Read the full review by Chris Ward at thisisnotascene.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment