Saturday, May 21, 2016

Katatonia "The Fall of Hearts"

Country: Sweden
Genre(s): Progressive Metal/Rock
Label: Peaceville Records
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release date: May 20, 2016
1. Takeover (7:09)
2. Serein (4:46)
3. Old Heart Falls (4:22)
4. Decima (4:46)
5. Sanction  (5:07)
6. Residual (6:54)
7. Serac (7:25)
8. Last Song Before The Fade (5:01)
9. Shifts (4:54)
10. The Night Subscriber (6:10)
11. Pale Flag (4:23)
12. Passer (6:25)
13. Vakaren (4:54) (CD/DVD & Deluxe Edition Bonus Track)
14. Sistere  (4:11) (LP & Deluxe Edition Bonus Track)
15. Wide Awake In Quietus  (4:59) (Digital & Deluxe Edition Bonus Track)

Total Time 81:26

Jonas Renkse - Vocals
Anders Nyström - Guitar
Roger Öjersson (Tiamat) - Guitar
Niklas Sandin - Bass
Daniel Moilanen - Drums
Gregor MacKintosh (Paradise Lost) - Guitar (15)

The Fall of Hearts, to be released on May 20 through Peaceville Records, continues in the vein of their dark progressive rock catalogue with a record that is diverse and melancholic while incorporating unique guitar work and catchy vocals.
“Takeover” begins with Jonas Renkse’s expressive voice and gently distorted guitars before Daniel Moilanen’s hypnotic rhythms emerge, underpinning a dark, knotted riff a la Tool, but with a distinct tapping section. Though I’m sure many make comparisons between Katatonia and other long-standing progressive acts like Tool, Porcupine Tree and Opeth, this group, ten albums into their career, have developed an identity that stands strong on its own. This driving yet atmospheric opening track gives the listener an idea of what to expect from The Fall of Hearts, featuring melodic vocals, unique guitar work and chilling, minimalist keys.
Read the full review by Landon Turlock at itdjents.com

Old Heart Falls

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment