Friday, May 13, 2016

Nine Stones Close "Leaves"

Country: UK/Netherlands
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Label: Bad Elephant Music
Format: CD, digital
Release date: May 13, 2016
  1. Complicated
  2. Goldfish   
  3. Lie   
  4. Spoils   
  5. Leaves
Adrian Jones - Guitars, guitar synthesizer
Pieter van Hoorn - Drums & percussion
Christiaan Bruin - Keyboards
Peter Groen - Bass and Stick
Adrian 'Aio' O'Shaughnessy - Vocals
Ruben van Kruistrum - Cello
Annelise Rijk - Violin
Bas Immerzeel - Additional rhythm guitar (5)

Those expecting a record that obviously follows its predecessor are in for a surprise. Possibly even a shock. Obviously, the introduction of a new vocalist changes things, but the bulk of ‘Leaves’ is almost nothing like its predecessors, musically, vocally, or even spiritually. It’s angry; it’s heavier; it’s about a hundred times darker. With this release and a vocalist with a wailing edge to his delivery – combined with Jones’s love of Tool – ‘Leaves’ takes 9SC in a more progressive metal direction. There are still more than enough quiet and wandering passages to keep the older fans happy (something especially true of the title cut), but some will find that this record takes a while to click. In some ways, this album is a hit and miss affair, but the bits that work…really work.
Read the full review at realgonerocks.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment