Friday, May 27, 2016

Frost* "Falling Satellites"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock/Pop
LabelInside Out
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release dateMay 27, 2016
01. First Day (01:37)
02. Numbers (04:22)
03. Towerblock (06:14)
04. Signs (06:37)
05. Lights Out (03:52)
06. Heartstrings (06:21)
07. Closer To The Sun (07:21)
08. The Raging Against The Dying Of The Light Blues In 7/8 (07:50)
09. Nice Day For It... (06:38)
10. Hypoventilate (02:01)
11. Last Day (03:02)
12. Lantern (03:45)
13. British Wintertime (06:29)

Total time: 55:55

Jem Godfrey - vocals, keyboards, railboard, guitar, lap steel, beaumatron
John Mitchell (Arena, Kino) - guitarsб vocals
Nathan King (Dec Burke) - bass
Craig Blundell (Pendragon) - drums
Joe Satriani - guitar (7)
Tori Beaumont - vocals (5)
Mark Knight - violin (8)

“Falling Satellites” is Frost*’s most pop-influenced album, without a doubt.  Tackling the heavy concept of the astounding impossibility of our existence and the resulting lessons that should be learned, the album addresses life with upbeat music that get progressively more serene with each track.  So, if you are looking for some sort of retro prog or maybe a heavier sound, they went in exactly the opposite direction.  Unswayed by the modern trends in progressive rock, Frost* have released an album that celebrates the missing progressive pop subgenre with sounds ranging from subtle to sweeping to dubstep.  Yes, dubstep (more on that in a bit).  This is an album that might shock the prog snob in all of us, as it presents us with razor sharp vocal hooks, upbeat melodies, and some songs that might not be progressive at all.  Yet, it also offers incredibly technical grooves, layers and layers of gorgeous sounds, progressive structures, and, of course, some of the best soloing you will ever hear on any album.
Read the full review at theprogmind.com

Also read track-by-track review by Jeff Nixon at canthisevenbecalledmusic.com


Web page

1 comment :

  1. Bajando el disco.. heartstrings me da esperanzas de que sea un album como milliontown.. muy buena pagina..