Monday, May 25, 2015

Third Ion "13/8Bit"

Country: Canada
Genre(s)Progressive Metal
LabelGlasstone Records
FormatCD, digital
Release dateMay 25, 2015
  1. 13/8 Bit - 4:23
  2. Capitol Spill - 5:34
  3. Zero Mass - 4:23
  4. Collapse - 6:27
  5. Particle Replacement Mechanism - 7:10
  6. The Kineticist - 6:15
  7. Time Lapse Beta - 13:42
  8. Van hAlien - 6:57
Aaron Edgar - drums
Justin Bender (Into Eternity) - guitars
Mike Young (Devin Townsend, Fen) - bass, keyboards
Tyler Gilbert - vocals

What’s most interesting about Third Ion is that while they utilize the “chip metal” elements (see Machinae Supremacy), there’s much more to the band than that. The most obvious usage of these elements is in the opening title track, which) begins with some Mega Man hijinks before the metal kicks in. It also closes with “Van hAlien,” which boasts a number of different effects as well. It’s a nice sound enhancer, and it never seems like “too much.” Other than those two tracks, most tracks do not have this element and could be described as well-composed and altogether interesting progressive metal, which benefits from some elegant use of piano throughout the album. The vocals give it an almost alternative/grunge feel at points, with a vague similarity to Chris Cornell as well as Mikael Akerfeldt. One of the standout tracks here would be the 13-minute “Time Lapse Beta,” twisting and turning with an more dark rock approach that never missteps through its extended time. The album is rounded out by some solid guitar and bass work, such as the technical riffing of “Collapse” and “Zero Mass.”
 Read the full review by Kyle McGinn at deadrhetoric.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment