Friday, May 8, 2015

Arcturus “Arcturian”

Country: Norway
Genre(s)Avant-Garde Progressive Metal
LabelProphecy Productions
FormatCD, vinyl, digital
Release dateMay 8, 2015 (NA - May 12, 2015)
1. The Arcturian Sign 05:08
2. Crashland 04:08
3. Angst 04:26
4. Warp 03:51
5. Game Over 05:57
6. Demon 03:27
7. Pale 05:10
8. The Journey 04:14
9. Archer 05:36
10. Bane 05:50

Simen "ICS Vortex" Hestnaes - vocals
Knut Magne Valle - guitars
Steinar "Sverd" Johnsen - guitars, keyboards
Hugh "Skoll" Mingay - bass
Jan Axel "Hellhammer' Blomberg - drums

Fortunately, Arcturus found their cosmic muse again, because literally each composition on Arcturian bristles with energy, creativity and the type of avant-garde vaudevillian madness that make the aforementioned La Infernale Masquerade album such an enchanting listen still after all these years. ...
Arcturian is the perfect blend between the vaudevillian madness of La Masquerade Infernale and the musical prowess and finesse which characterises The Sham Mirrors. This combined with a matured sense of songwriting make this album a strong contender for album of the year and this might very well be the most accomplished release ICS Vortex and co have delivered so far.
 Read the full review by Raymond Westland at echoesanddust.com

The Arcturian Sign

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment