Friday, June 21, 2013

Bulbs "On"

Country: UK
Sub GenreAmbient, Progressive Rock, Post-Rock
Release date: June 21, 2013
1. Lament (1.55) 
2. Frankinscensed (4.47) 
3. Majestic (5.56) 
4. Injusa (4.03) 
5. Illuminate (6.25) 
6. USA (2.04) 
7. Lantra (3.57) 
8. They Control The Weather (5.29) 
9. Switch (2.49) 
10. Future Cities (4.49) 
11. A Very Good Friday (4.39) 
12. 3572 Off (5.52)
Neil Campbell: guitars, keyboards
Joey Zeb: drums
Andy Maslivec: bass, vocals
Marty Snape: electronics

The four piece band produce sounds with a power that is greater than their sum and it’s on the opener Lament that the journey begins – a moody intro that shifts gradually into higher gears and bridges into the futuristic drama of Frankincensed. It’s here the album kicks into full gear, the electronic samples providing a sonic bed to the bass, guitar and drums that make up the rest of the band. As we move further on Majestic takes the vibes down low, to an atmospheric chill out zone lead by Campbell’s ever excellent guitar playing.
“I think we’re all going to wake up one day and realise we’ve all been too relaxed…” is the quote that opens the Illuminate, and it’s political metaphor soon makes its presence felt in the epic  but elegantly down played film score like music that makes the track so, well, illuminating. As with much of the album it lulls the listener into a sense of musical peace and then jumps at you with something new without warning.
There are quiet moments, such as the contemplative, almost meditational Lantra, and more sonically liberated passages such as the hypnotic They Control the Weather or the all out assault on the ears that Future Cities launches on the senses in such a perfect manner. It’s something akin to hiding around a corner waiting to jump out on an unsuspecting someone – but distinctly more melodic!
As we reach the albums close we get a distinctly soulful number entitled A Very Good Friday that carries a sense of come down finality with it in the playful instrumental conversation it engages you in. As the come down occurs, we get the quietly celebratory 3572 OFF – a nice bookend to the album that does the thing that all good closers must do – make you listen all over again.
Read the full review by Sebastian Gahan at networkedblogs.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment