Friday, June 24, 2016

Ghost Community "Cycle of Life"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Label: ROK Music 
Format: CD, digital
Release date: June 24, 2016
1. Rise Up (7:32)
2. Mirror Lakes (6:31)
3. Anything And Everything (7:29)
4. Blue December Morning (7:02)
5. Ghost Community (7:15)
6. Cycle Of Life (15:48)

Total Time 51:37

John Paul Vaughan - Lead Vocals
Simon Rogers (Also Eden) - Guitars, Backing Vocals
Matthew Cohen (The Reasoning, Magenta) - Bass
Moray Macdonald - Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Jake Bradford-Sharp - Drums, Backing Vocals

From track one, aptly named “Rise Up,” the album is off to a great start. The album ‘rises up’ to a big opener about standing up for what’s right. It’s a heavier track, with all sides playing hard. It’s not overpowering and equally shows off each member of the band. “Rise Up” is reminiscent of 30 Seconds to Mars meeting Rush; not a bad combination at all.
“Mirror Lakes” is trickier to decipher. Are we to interpret the song to be about people out of reach or the real person underneath the skin they present? People seeing what they want to see? Whatever it is, it is a fine song. Softer, but still possessing power, it is maybe more of a traditional “prog” song in its form.
“Anything And Everything” does what it says on the tin. Included within the Floyd-esque track is a mix of musical styles featuring great keyboard work along with heavy bass and rock riffs.
“Blue December Morning” is a slow starter, metronomic, and soft while you wait in anticipation. It speeds up slightly until the finale featuring some exceptional drumming.
“Ghost Community” follows. The band’s anthem is sure to have live audiences singing along, and the community-oriented message is delivered clear for all to hear.
Title track “Cycle Of life” closes the album. It is an epic at nearly sixteen minutes in length, though it passes quickly and holds your rapt attention. The song has all the markings of a prog song from mood and time changes – like having four seasons in one day.
The same can be said for the whole album, too. There isn’t a bad track, and all songs are well written. The band members, each possessing great talent, are equally represented in this beautiful community.
Read the full review by Doug Bearne at nationalrockreview.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment