Monday, June 13, 2016

Cosmograf "The Unreasonable Silence"

Country: UK
Genre(s)Progressive Rock
FormatCD, digital
Release date: June 13 , 2016
1. echo $abduction; 

2. This Film Might Change Your Life 

3. Plastic Men 

4. Arcade Machine 

5. RGB 

6. Four Wall Euphoria 

7. The Uniform Road 

8. The Silent Field 

9. Relativity 

10. The Unreasonable Silence 

Robin Armstrong - Vocals, instruments
Nick D'Virgilio (Spock’s Beard, Big Big Train), Drums (1-4, 6-10)
Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett, Mute Gods, Lifesigns) - Bass (6)
Dave Meros (Spock’s Beard) - Bass (4)
Rachael Hawnt - Vocals (6, 9, 10)

Voice Actors:
Redd Horrocks – ‘Emma, the girlfriend’
Josh at Rocketsound – ‘Connor Ramirez’
Andrew Whelbig – ‘Alien Eyewitness’
Martin Paine – ‘Tom’
Linnea Sage – ‘Amy Curtis’
Katherine Thompson – ‘Sarah Erith’
Rhiannon Owens - ‘Lisa Williams – Alien Eyewitness 2’

Martin Hutchinson – ‘Martin Jones - Conspiracy Theorist 1’

David Thompson - ‘Conspiracy Theorist 2’
Steve Wilson – ‘Documentary Voice’
Robin Armstrong – ‘Other Voices’.

Cosmograf’s fifth studio album release is an existential concept album with an alien theme, based on the essay ‘The Myth of Sisyphus’ by the French philosopher Albert Camus.
Between our quest for knowledge and refusal of the world to give up its secrets, lies the concept of absurdism. In his original essay, Camus describes a mythological character, Sysiphus condemned to pointless labour in order to illustrate the absurdity of human existence. Robin Armstrong twists the story to portray a modern character that has become disillusioned with his own life to the point that he believes his destiny may reside in another world. As with previous Cosmograf albums, the tale is told with a very cinematic feel and explores the themes of paranoia, social withdrawal and conformity, and ultimately the search for meaning in our own existence. 

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment