Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Erik Norlander "Surreal"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Symphonic
Label: Think Tank Media
Format: CD, digital
Release date: June 21, 2016
1. The Party's Overture (7:52)
2. The Galaxy Collectors (Album Mix) (10:34)
3. Suitcase And Umbrella (7:08)
4. Unearthly (8:48)
5. Surreal (feat. Lana Lane) (10:46)
6. El Gran Final (11:08)

Total time 56:16
Erik Norlander - keyboards
Mark Matthews - bass
Nick LePar - drums
Greg Ellis - percussion
Alastair Greene - guitars (1,2,3,4,6)
Lana Lane - vocals (5)
Jeff Kollman - guitars (5)
Mark McCrite - acoustic guitar (3)
Don Schiff - cello, contrabass and fretless NS/Stick (2)

After two recent highly-acclaimed releases with his Rocket Scientists project, Norlander now presents the follow-up to his 2009 solo epic The Galactic Collective released in several forms including a live DVD/CD set. Surreal continues in that spirit with traditional rock band instrumentation fronted by Norlander’s own timeless, signature keyboards. Surreal gives both a nod to the past and puts an eye on the future with lush analog soundscapes, real living human grooves, and unforgettable melodic lead work that will keep the songs playing in the listener’s head long after the music stops. Like The Galactic Collective, Surreal is mostly an instrumental affair with 5 tracks driven by keyboard and guitar melodies. But there is a sixth song, the title track, that features vocals by Norlander’s chanteuse spouse Lana Lane.

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment