Friday, June 15, 2018

Xavi Reija feat. Tony Levin, Markus Reuter, Dusan Jevtovic "The Sound Of The Earth"

Country: Spain
Genre(s): Instrumental Progressive Rock, Fusion
Label: Moonjune Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: June 15, 2018
1. Deep Ocean (6:42)
2. The Sound Of The Earth I (9:54)
3. From Darkness (7:33)
4. The Sound Of The Earth II (12:14)
5. Serenity (5:50)
6. The Sound Of The Earth III (9:14)
7. Lovely Place (4:41)
8. The Sound Of The Earth IV (16:36)
9. Take A Walk (4:11)

Total Time 76:55

Xavi Reija - drums
Tony Levin - bass guitar, upright bass, stick
Markus Reuter - touch guitar
Dusan Jevtovic - guitar

...“Deep Ocean” starts things off with a fanfare of muscular guitar and cymbals crashing like waves on the rocky coast, carving out the beach and unearthing a primal groove with growling bass and jittering spectral figures. “The Sound of the Earth I” brings to mind David Sylvian’s post-Japan near ambient instrumental excursions where space and pause became as integral to the “composition as place” as his trusty Prophet 5. Once this world is created, and with a decidedly Beckian vibe (Jeff, that is), Dusan wrings from the neck of his guitar, some of the most emotive broken phrases and edited soulful voicings. 
Read the full review by Dan Burke and stream the album at Bandcamp

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment