Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Ypnos "Beholder"

Country: Italy
Genre(s): Progressive Metal/Rock
Label: Sliptrick Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: September 19, 2017
1. Arachnophobia (5:08)
2. Tyranny Suite: I. The Beginning Birth Of A New Slave (2:29)
3. Tyranny Suite: II. State Of Grace (5:03)
4. Tyranny Suite: III. March Of The Tyrants The Tempest, Pt. 1 (5:21)
5. Tyranny Suite: IV. Building An Empire The Tempest, Pt. 2 (5:41)
6. Tyranny Suite: V. Reality State Of Conscience, Pt. 1 (6:06)
7. Tyranny Suite: VI. Diary Of A Slave State Of Conscience, Pt. 2 (7:08)
8. Tyranny Suite: VII. The Ending (7:22)
9. Northern Star (3:54)
10. The Circle, Pt. 1: Grey (5:35)

Total Time 53:47

Christian Peretto - Vocals
Davide Morisi - Guitars
Marco Govoni - Bass
Valentino Bosi - Keyboards
Giacomo Calabria - Drums

Beholder is the debut album from Italian Progressive Rock/Metal band Ypnos. It features 10 songs, including the 7-track Tyranny Suite. Being more a musical travelogue through the human brain in 7 distinct steps, rather than a canonical suite, Tyranny Suite is a direct statement; “humans are enslaved by their own emotions, from birth to death. Emotions are tyrants we either learn to cope with or yield under their power”.
The 10 tracks from Beholder vary through very different styles, from the metal/prog-metal oriented Arachnophobia and March of The Tyrants, to the progressive rock of State of Grace and The Ending, through to the pop-ish Reality. Ypnos try to explore themselves in every song, in an endless journey through colors and music, harvesting the deepest cuts and throwing away all the excess waste until only music and basic emotions remain. Ypnos rarely over indulge themselves with their own melodies, keeping every song as tight as possible. No pointless long solos or over repeated riffs. This is a compelling mantra in the band’s natural “modus operandi”, and also applies to the intimate and cerebral style of the lyrics.


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment