Monday, February 29, 2016

The Observatory "August Is The Cruellest"

Country: Singapore
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Format: CD, digital, vinyl, cassette
Release date: February 29, 2016
1. August Is The Cruellest (6:46)
2. Brutal Blues (4:23)
3. Wait For The Real Storm (10:04)
4. A Ghost To You (8:56)
5. Everything Is Vibration (6:39)
6. You Have No Heart (7:28)
7. The Weight Of It All (5:45)

Total time 50:01

Leslie Low
Vivian Wang
Yuen Chee Wai
Cheryl Ong
Natalie Alexandra Tse - guzheng (7)
Andy Chia - dizi (7)

Lyrically, the album draws bleak comparisons from the poems of T.S. Eliot and Yan Jun; outlining the harshness of the air we breathe from our swiddening neighbours and constructing a landscape of the inevitable, based on the choices that we and our forefathers have made. ​
Musically, it is an abstraction of the blues in the mode of C, influenced by the power of the riff and the energy of heavy rock music. Expanding upon 'Oscilla' the song, which is also in the key of C and diving deeper into its modal abyss. The music jolts and scares through feedback and an incessant pulse, in the hopes of toppling the apathetic stance that we, for generations, have come to find comfortable and convenient.


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment