Friday, October 4, 2019

In Mourning "Garden Of Storms"

Country: Sweden
Genre(s): Progressive Metal
Label: Agonia Records
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: October 4, 2019
1. Black Storm (7:23)
2. Yields Of Sand (6:23)
3. Hierophant (6:17)
4. Magenta Ritual (6:43)
5. Huntress Moon (6:55)
6. Tribunal Of Suns (7:25)
7. The Lost Outpost (9:20)

Total Time 50:26

Tobias Netzell – Vocals, Guitars
Björn Pettersson – Guitars, Vocals
Tim Nedergård – Guitars
Sebastian Svalland – Bass
Joakim Strandberg Nilsson – Drums

It sounds like In Mourning are really on a listening kick of anything Dan Swanö-related, Opeth, and a lot of the doomier/groovier more black’n roll side of things (Khold and maybe a little bit of Enslaved come to mind). As I hear it, opener “Black Storm” is a majestic piece of progressive black metal with a ’70s flair, and it’s a fantastic opening to a pretty expansive album.
Other songs like the sort of ’70s take on Death’n Roll thrasher “Hierophant” demonstrate just how weirdly In Mourning are willing to pull together their various tangled musical threads to make something feel complex and all their own in ethos alone. Even songs you might argue are more traditionally In Mourning, like “Huntress Moon”, are more about an oppressive sense of melancholy conveyed in a much more aggressive manner. Instead of being a wall of sound that just washes over you, the heavier songs are torrents of layered melodic tapestries backed by constant blast beats.
Read the full review by TheMadIsraeli at nocleansinging.com



No comments :

Post a Comment