Friday, April 26, 2019

Tanagra "Meridiem"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive/Power Metal
Format: CD, digital
Release date: April 26, 2019
1. Meridiem (11:35)
2. Sydria (4:00)
3. Etheric Alchemy (8:49)
4. Silent Chamber (7:52)
5. The Hidden Hand (10:14)
6. Across The Ancient Desert (7:39)
7. Witness (14:18)

Total Time 64:27

Steven Soderberg: lead and rhythm guitars, additional lead and backing vocals (2, 6)
Christopher Stewart: drums and percussion
Erich Ulmer: bass guitar, additional lead and backing vocals (2, 6)
Tom Socia: lead and backing vocals
Josh Kay: lead and rhythm guitars
Jefferey Rondeau: orchestral arrangements (1, 7)
Gil Assayas: piano solo (1)
Jake Rogers: vocals (6)
Skip vonKuske: cello (1, 4, 7)
Kyleen King: viola (4)

Playing a potent and varied form of symphonic prog/power metal, Tanagra have packed Meridiem to the gills with ideas, and it is without a doubt over-indulgent. But for the most part I mean this in the best way possible. Opening with the eleven and a half minute title track was a bold choice and clearly sets the tone for the listener. Filled with keys, strings, classical guitar, and solos, weaving through theme after theme, and even throwing a short black metal-esque instrumental passage in for good measure, the track demands that you immediately accept that more is more or leave the Hall. Perhaps the most interesting aspect of the track—and the album in general—is that the vocals take the opposite approach. Singer Tom Socia uses middle and lower ranges (think Falconer‘s Mathias Blad and in some spots David Gold) in a very restrained performance, and it works wonderfully, allowing the excess of the music to succeed without throwing the typical squeezed balls power vocals into the mix.
Read the full review by  Holdeneye at angrymetalguy.com



No comments :

Post a Comment