Friday, February 23, 2018

Dukes of the Orient "Dukes of the Orient"

Country: USA/UK
Genre(s)AOR, Progressive Rock
LabelFrontiers Music s.r.l
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: February 23, 2018
1. Brother In Arms (5:21)
2. Strange Days (5:32)
3. Amor Vincit Omnia (5:44)
4. Time Waits For No One (6:03)
5. A Sorrow's Crown (5:05)
6. Fourth Of July (8:27)
7. Seasons Will Change (6:37)
8. Give Another Reason (10:08)

Total Time 52:57

John Payne (Asia, ASIA Featuring John Payne, GPS): vocals, bass, guitars
Erik Norlander (Rocket Scientists, Lana Lane, Ayreon, ASIA Featuring John Payne): keyboards
Jeff Kollman (Cosmosquad): guitar
Guthrie Govan ( Steven Wilson, The Aristocrats, Asia, ASIA Featuring John Payne, GPS): guitar
Moni Scaria (ASIA Featuring John Payne): guitar
Bruce Bouillet (Lana Lane): guitar
Molly Rogers: strings
Jay Schellen (Circa:, Conspiracy, ASIA Featuring John Payne, GPS): drums

If you think that Dukes Of The Orient sound like an Asia-type band, you're not far from the truth. Large hints of Asia are here, but also ELP, Yes, and parts Toto. Dukes Of The Orient is simply melodic neo-progressive rock in an AOR wrapper. Or said another way, the songs are very catchy, pop-like, AOR rock songs with some technicality, and a large portion of Norlander keyboard wizardry.
Read the full review by Craig Hartranft at dangerdog.com

Strange Days
Seasons Will Change

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment