Friday, April 27, 2018

God Is An Astronaut "Epitaph"

Country: Ireland
Genre(s)Post Rock
Label: Napalm Records
FormatCD, vinyl, digital
Release date: April 27, 2018
1. Epitaph
2. Mortal Coil
3. Winter Dusk/Awakening
4. Seance Room
5. Komorebi
6. Medea
7. Oisín

Torsten Kinsella - Guitars, Piano, Synths, Vox
Niels Kinsella - Bass
Lloyd Hanney - Drums
Jimmy Scanlon - Additional Guitar (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
Jamie Dean - Additional Piano/Keys (1, 2, 3)
Brian Harris - Additional Guitar (2)

The opening title track ‘Epitaph’ sets the album`s mood. There is pain and loss at work here, but not pain and loss that are given in to. Sparse piano motifs face energetic rhythms, shimmering guitar coatings, and eruptions of dense fury breathe life into a journey of melancholic longing: there is the release experienced when a troubled existence ends in ‘Mortal Coil‘ followed by the sombre foreshadowing that is ‘Winter Dusk/Awakening‘.
The album changes direction slightly with ‘Seánce Room’ and the music on this highway is taking you someplace meaningful and special – someplace where near and far blur and stars weep over tragedies.
Finally, the beautiful and hypnotic piece of music that is the album-closing ‘Oisín’ is in memory of Torsten and Niels' 7-year-old cousin who was tragically taken from this world. It distils into four minutes all the pain, sadness and longing felt by many over a much-longer timeframe. A fitting end to an album that will move you deeply and call out to you to be revisited many times. 

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment