Friday, May 12, 2017

Valerian Swing "Nights"

Country: Italy
Genre(s): Post Rock, Math Rock
Label: Small Pond Records
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: May 12, 2017
1. A Leaf (5:33)
2. Two Ships (4:03)
3. Three Keys (2:30)
4. Four Horses (3:56)
5. Five Walls (4:20)
6. Six Feet (3:31)
7. Seven Cliffs (5:30)
8. Eight Dawns (6:21)

Total Time 35:44

Stefano Villani: guitars, electronics, vocals
David Ferretti: drums
Francesco Giovanetti: baritone guitar, synths

Shedding the shackles of the ‘heavy’ bracket has proven a wise choice – as a band they sound leaner, the music more textured, the soundscapes more expansive and emotive than before. Unlike many of their contemporaries they never fall into the trap of utilising their impressive instrumentation incorrectly. Everything here is measured, sensible, tasteful – just the right amounts of grit, pathos and cold modernity rub shoulders with equal measures of lightness, malleability and analogue warmth.
Read the full review by Jamie Otsa at  drownedinsound.com

Bandcamp  (name your price)

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment