Monday, May 1, 2017

Magic Bus "Phillip The Egg"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
LabelBack to the Garden Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: May 1, 2017
1. Mystical Mountain (i) Twelve Kings (8:50)
2. Fading Light (3:36)
3. Trail To Canaa (5:43)
4. Zeta (4:33)
5. Distant Future (7:10)
6. Kepler 22b (6:41)
– i) The Root
– ii) Zapruder
– iii) Myrrh and Honey
7. Kalamazoo (3:30)
8. Yantra Tunnels (5:03)

Total Time 45:06

Paul Evans – Vocals, Guitar
Jay Darlington – Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Terence Waldstadt – Lead & Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
Viv Goodwin-Darke – Flute, Percussion, Backing Vocals
Wihll Mellorz – Bass Guitar, Guitar (7)
Connor Spring – Drums, Guitar (7)
 Mystical Mountain typifies this development as it commences in a vein reminiscent of their previous Caravan/‘Canterbury’ inspired 2014 album, the fine Transmissions from Sogmore’s Garden, tripping along whimsically with mellifluous guitars, lovely harmony vocals and short flute swoops. However, just when you think it’s over it then takes off in a whole new direction with an extended instrumental second part. A simple guitar riff is built on by bass, drums and a soft flute as it rises in tempo and volume, perhaps akin to ascending a mountain, before we reach a simple piano plateau which leads to a further rising simple guitar, bass and subtle drum passage – and then Magic Bus really start to raise the musical power.
Read the full review by Leo Trimming at theprogressiveaspect.net


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment