Friday, December 16, 2016

Free Salamander Exhibit "Undestroyed"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Experimental Progressive Rock
Label: Web of Mimicry
Format: CD, digital
Release date: December 16, 2016
1. Unreliable Narrator (5:23)
2. The Keep (5:42)
3. The Gift (9:56)
4. Time Master (5:21)
5. Undestroyed (10:11)
6. Atheists' Potluck (4:28)
7. Oxen Of The Sun (9:20)

Total time 50:21

Nils Frykdahl (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) – vocals, guitar, flute
Dan Rathbun (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) – bass, various homemade instruments
Michael Mellender (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) – guitar, trumpet, percussion, percussion-guitar
David Shamrock (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) – drums, glockenspiel
Drew Wheeler – guitar, glockenspiel, Theremin

Undestroyed delivers a genre-damning assault of clarity, confusion, tottering riffage and apocalyptic joy to the listener. What is probably most distinguishing is that, Lo and Behold, Free Salamander Exhibit is a band in the truest sense of the word. A very real, well-honed, cared-about and labored-over band that builds upon its ancient and true chemistries with their new ideas. Forgoing any suggestion of cheap imaginary elaborations into digital simulacra, we are rewarded with Free Salamander Exhibit's preference for their arsenal of imaginative homemade musical instruments (in addition to their guitars, basses, and drums). Though it's difficult-as-ever to characterize much about this collective with any accuracy, Undestroyed sees them embracing their true art-prog-rock (in opposition) calling as never before. Both initiates and newcomers are better off abandoning all expectation as they step into their new curatorial realm.

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment