Friday, December 2, 2016

Virta "Hurmos"

Country: Finland
Genre(s): Instrumental Post Rock, Jazz
Label: Svart Records
Format: CD, vinyl
Release date: December 2, 2016
1. Aallot
2. About to Fly
3. Time Travel
4. Härmä
5. The Landing
6. Uni
7. On the Run​

Antti Hevosmaa: trumpet, vocals, electronics
Heikki Selamo: guitar, vocals, electronics
Erik Fräki: drums, percussion, electronics

...an all-instrumental affair of seven electro-acoustic compositions ... merging the stark, melancholy nature of post-rock with the freewheeling experimentation of jazz. "About to Fly" kind of sums up this odd blending of styles perfectly... The arrangements aren't overly busy like typical jazz, but it's also not as bleak as you can usually expect from post-rock, but somewhere in between.
Read the full review by Pete Pardo at seaoftranquility.org

About to Fly
Time Travel
On the Run

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment