Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Kevin Kastning & Carl Clements "Nowhere, Now Here"

Country: USA
Sub GenreJazz, Chamber, Ambient, Acoustic
LabelGreydisc Records
Release dateJuly 16, 2013
  1. Lunar Incantation Precision (4:12)
  2. Somewhen (5:40)
  3. ncomparably Light And Repose (6:54)
  4. Deceptive Corridors Passing (6:35)
  5. Otherwheres (5:57)
  6. Overmorrow I (4:04)
  7. Rust In Form (8:03)
  8. Overmorrow II (4:28)
  9. Woven Sunlight And Leaving (5:31)
  10. First Hovering; First Vanishing (4:32)
  11. Into Propagation Suspension (3:24)
  12. A Whispered Believing (6:55)
  13. Delirium Membrane Circuit (4:53)
  14. Both Ends Of Two Rainbows (5:37)
Kevin Kastning: 30-string Contra-Soprano guitar, 17-string Contraguitar, 16-string Contraguitar
Carl Clements: Tenor and Soprano saxophones, Alto flute

Occupying a space where melodious free jazz, acoustic improvisation, chamber music and ambient music meet for a nice civilised cuppa, these songs are all highly intricate affairs, the two players complementing each other's highly developed sense of space and musicality perfectly. All the compositions are credited to the two of them, and it is not indicated anywhere on the CD or in the press release if this is an improvised or scored work. It certainly sounds like it was scored, but conversely, and given the high skill levels of these two musicians, it could easily have been improvised. 
Read the full review by Roger Trenwith at dprp.net

Lunar Incantation Precision

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment