Tuesday, March 14, 2017

C-Sides "We Are Now"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Format: CD, digital
Release date: March 14, 2017
1. Out Of The Water (9:22)
2. Black Road River (8:51)
3. Deck Chair City (8:27)
4. Truth Through Clowns (3:15)
5. Rock And A Hard Place (10:16)
6. Before The Fall (3:27)
7. Living Without Wires (5:17)
8. Lies In The Open (9:11)
9. We Are Now (10:18)

Total time 68:24

Martin Rosser (ex-Magenta) - guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
Jay MacDonald (Sankara) - bass
Allan Mason‐Jones (ex-Magenta) - drums, percussion
Allen McCarthy - lead vocals

Musically the album reflects an eclectic range of influences, ranging from 70s stalwarts Yes (especially the 90125 era of the band) and Gentle Giant via Rush - particularly their 80s incarnation when synthesizers were an important part of their sound - towards modern progressive bands like Mew. While not a concept album, Allen has created lyrical themes throughout the individual songs that link them together to form a larger body of work. The band believe that strong melodies are key to a successful song. The vocal melodies and harmonies present on the new album belie the sometimes challenging and complex musical arrangements that underpin them. We Are Now is an album that rewards the listener, as repeated plays reveal the rich texture, changing time signatures and instrumental ability of the band.


No comments :

Post a Comment