Friday, September 20, 2019

Kaprekar's Constant "Depth Of Field"

Country: UK
Genre(s)Progressive Rock
LabelTalking Elephant Records - TECD434
FormatCD, digital, vinyl
Release date: September 20, 2019 (CD, digital)
01. Rosherville Part I (10:34)
02. Holywell Street (4:38)
03. Ghost Planes (10:48)
04. The Nightwatchman (6:10)
05. White Star Sunrise (23:43)
06. Rosherville Part II (9:37)
07. Depth of Field (2:09)

Total Time – 67:39

Al Nicholson – Guitars, Piano, Keyboards, Mandolin
Nick Jefferson – Bass, Guitars, Keyboards, Spoken Word
Mike Westergaard – Piano, Keyboards, Guitar, Backing Vocals
David Jackson (Van der Graaf Generator) – Saxophones, Flutes, Whistles
Bill Jefferson – Vocals, Backing Vocals
Dorie Jackson – Vocals, Backing Vocals
Mark Walker (Caravan) – Drums and Percussion
Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull) - Spoken Word (6)

When they released Fate Outsmarts Desire in 2017 it came right out of left-field from a band that no-one had heard of, and that impressive debut made an instant impact with its story filled folk-tinged progressive rock music. Therefore, there is rather more anticipation from many fans for this follow-up.
Could this album continue and develop that early promise or was it just a flash in the pan?
Well, the short answer is that Kaprekar’s Constant have certainly succeeded with this outstanding album, which takes the blueprint from their first and significantly develops the quality of their composition and performance with increasing confidence. Comparisons with Big Big Train are inevitable, but that’s not a bad thing as there’s still room in the rather niche territory of progressive rock largely inspired by history for another skilled and inspired group of artists.
Read the full review by Leo Trimming at theprogressiveaspect.net

Rosherville Part 1 & 2 (at 49:50)
Holywell Street  (at 5:45)

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment