Friday, November 24, 2017

Lucifer Was "Morning Star"

Country: Norway
Genre(s)Retro Prog, Hard Rock
LabelTransubstans Records (TRANS146, TRANSV44BLU)
FormatCD, digital, vinyl
Release date: November 24, 2017
1. As It Comes (5:36)
2. A Forest Of Zaqqum Trees (3:50)
3. Tube Music (4:51)
4. Cold Up Here In The North (4:22)
5. Sea Of Sleep (4:47)
6. Sunday Morning Griever (6:02)
7. Pure (15:25)

Total Time 44:53

Jon Ruder - Lead vocals
Thore Engen - Lead guitar, acoustic guitars, zither, vocals
Dag Stenseng - Flute, vocals
Anders Sevaldson - Flute
Einar Bruu - Bass
Kai Frilseth - Drums, percussion
Arild Brøter (Pymlico) - Drums, percussion
Andreas Sjo - Engen Guitar, cigar-box slide guitar, vocals
Arne Martinussen - Organ, piano, Mellotron, harpsichord

The complete 1972-1974 Lucifer Was line-up that recorded Underground And Beyond and the year 2000 second album In Anadi’s Bower, is all featured throughout the album. Look out for the two-drummer kick on several numbers.
Morning Star contains seven tracks. Two of these, Tube Music and Sunday Morning Griever, are based on songs from Thore Engen’s 70’s tape-find in a box in his basement in 2015, which sort of got this album initially started. Another track, Sea Of Sleep, the only ever song co-written by Thore Engen and flautist/singer Dag Stenseng, were, in a simpler form, featured regularly in the band’s live-set during the early 70’s. And then there is the 15:25 long Heavy Prog/Space blues mammoth composition Pure, a year in the writing and arranging by Jon Ruder and Thore Engen.
A Forest Of Zaqqum Trees

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment