Friday, May 6, 2016

Vektor "Terminal Redux"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive Thrash Metal
Label: Earache Records
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release date: May 6, 2016
1. Charging The Void (9:11)
2. Cygnus Terminal (8:15)
3. LCD (Liquid Crystal Disease) (7:33)
4. Mountains Above The Sun (1:22)
5. Ultimate Artificer (5:04)
6. Pteropticon (6:00)
7. Psychotropia (7:39)
8. Pillars Of Sand (5:19)
9. Collapse (9:22)
10. Recharging The Void (13:36)

Total time 73:21

David DiSanto – guitar, vocals
Erik Nelson – guitar
Frank Chin – bass guitar
Blake Anderson – drums
RoseMary Fiki – backing vocals (1, 10)
Naeemah Z. Maddox – backing vocals (1, 10)
Alex Poole – soundscapes

Wasting no time whatsoever on introductions, Vektor dives in at the deep end with the 9-minute “Charging The Void.” If this track is any indication, the band’s Voivod-meets-Watchtower-in-zero-gravity approach remains intact. This song is insanely complex harmonically and structurally, and the Devin Townsend-esque alien backing vocals are a nice touch as well. “Cygnus Terminal” is another dizzying array of space metal, slightly more downtempo but no less progressive. “LCD (Liquid Crystal Disease)” opens with a lengthy section of guitar tapping madness, leading to an impossibly fast thrash riff and some neo-classical touches here and there.
Read the full review at angrymetalguy.com



No comments :

Post a Comment