Friday, May 20, 2016

In Mourning "Afterglow"

Country: Sweden
Genre(s): Progressive Death Metal
Label: Agonia Records
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: May 20, 2016
1. Fire And Ocean (6:18)
2. The Grinning Mist (9:47)
3. Ashen Crown (8:08)
4. Below Rise To The Above (7:46)
5. The Lighthouse Keeper (7:28)
6. The Call To Orion (8:24)
7. Afterglow (5:52)

Total Time 53:43

Tobias Netzell - guitars, vocals
Pierre Stam - bass
Björn Pettersson - guitars
Tim Nedergård - guitars
Daniel Liljekvist (ex-Katatonia) - drums

As one might expect, Afterglow isn’t the kind of album that reveals itself at once. This fifty four minute effort is rife with moments of brilliance that cover both exceptional individual skill and stellar group harmony, but above all, it maintains an unwavering grip on the listener’s attention. “The Grinning Mist” for example is a beast of a track that comfortably crosses the nine minute mark while boasting segments in 7/4 and 11/8 in homage to the gods of prog. It also features a finely textured melodic chord arrangement that elevates the track with class; a trick that was executed to perfection on “Ashen Crown” where it created a counterpoint to the dark brooding melody on top of the main riff.
Read the full review by Aly Hassab El Naby at heavyblogisheavy.com

Also read track-by-track review at manofmuchmetal.wordpress.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment