Friday, January 22, 2016


Country: Norway
Genre(s): Electronica,  Krautrock, Progressive Rock
Label: House Of Mythology
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release date: January 22, 2016
  1.     England’s Hidden
  2.     Glammer Hammer
  3.     Moody Stix
  4.     Cromagnosis
  5.     The Spirits That Lend Strength Are Invisible
  6.     Om Hanumate Namah
  7.     Desert/Dawn
  8.     D-Day Drone
  9.     Gold Beach
  10.     Nowhere (Sweet Sixteen)
  11.     Ecclesiastes (A Vernal Catnap)
  12.     Solaris
Kristoffer Rygg
Jørn H. Sværen
Tore Ylwizaker
Daniel O'Sullivan

As always in the world of Ulver, influences are disparate and diverse, yet as Rygg notes, “It’s quite tributary in a way, there are clear nods to sounds from the past.” Many of these dwell in progressive, electronic and krautrock realms, heralding a lifelong love within the band for the music of the 70s – the fiery mantras of ‘Om Hanumate Namah’ and the motorik drive of ‘Cromagnosis’ draw an astral trajectory between the propulsion of Kraftwerk/Neu! and the ritualistic intensity of prime Amon Düül II, whilst the spirits of both Klaus Schulze and John Carpenter are audible in the electronic soundscapes of ‘Desert/Dawn’, not to mention the Bernard Herrmann touch in the closing ‘Solaris’. Even when the band revisits an earlier gem from 2000’s Perdition City album, as on ‘Nowhere (Sweet Sixteen)’, its reinvigorated by their expansive and emotionally charged approach. (Jimmy Martin)

Cromagnosis (Excerpt)
Moody Stix (Excerpt) 
4 Promo videos 

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment