Friday, July 24, 2015

Symphony X "Underworld"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Metal
LabelNuclear Blast Records
Format CD, digital, vinyl
Release dateJuly 24, 2015
1. Overture
2. Nevermore
3. Underworld
4. Without You
5. Kiss Of Fire
6. Charon
7. Hell And Back
8. In My Darkest Hour
9. Run With The Devil
10. Swansong
11. Legend

Michael LePond - Bass
Michael Romeo - Guitar
Russell Allen - Vocals
Michael Pinnella - Keyboards
Jason Rullo - Drums

First track is “Nevermore”. It’s a tribute to Dante in a compositional sense, and the number 3 is essential. The track is a classic Symphony X opening song; fast, catchy and melodic. Still it was the one track I spent most time getting to really like. The next three or four tracks are really the icing on the cake here; the super heavy title track, “Without You”(classic Symphony X, lovely balladry with some acoustic guitars, yet epic and a true stadium-anthem), and the ultra heavy “Kiss Of Fire” with some superb Devildriver-like pounding by the  great Jason Rullo, and Russell Allen who proves with his over-the-top performance that he’s one of the greatest singers out there. His vocals are more melodic, emotional and soaring this time than it was on “Iconoclast”, but there’s still some heavy shit going on.
 Read the full review by Hans Mikael Ødegaard at  screammagazine.com

Without You

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment