Friday, July 3, 2015

Luminous Newts "Luminous Newts"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Rock/Pop
FormatCD, digital
Release dateJuly 3, 2015
  1. The Wolf Doesn't Howl So Loud 05:48
  2. Up and Out 04:35
  3. Before I Die 03:40
  4. Cult of Two (Sailing Over the Moon) 04:12
  5. St. Patrick and the Snakes 03:21
  6. Flying Fish 03:35
  7. Waiting (A Bridge to Nowhere) 04:46
  8. Feel Better Now 03:09
  9. Envy 04:05
  10. Kommie Kitty 04:14
  11. I'm Just Sayin' 05:16
  12. Waiting 03:51
Thea Kelley – vocals
Eric Kampman (Now) – keyboards and vocals
Alan Novidor – bass
Charles Waltmire – drums
Dean Kattari – guitar (except 3, 7)
Paul Wells – guitar (3, 11), vocals (11)

Most of the twelve songs here take a more unexpected melodic approach, juxtaposing a fair amount of pop sensibility with angular ideas that are extremely original and seemingly timeless, with roots crossing several decades, but never sounding particularly retro. These are memorable tunes, bearing rich melodies that easily stick in your mind for days. The lyrics are intelligent and thoughtful, generally worthy of note, integrated well as a package, not simply filler to pad out musical wizardry.
 Read the full review by Peter Thelen at expose.org


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment