Saturday, May 11, 2013

Opposing Motion "Laws Of Motion"

Country: UK
Sub GenreProgressive Metal
LabelLion Music
Release dateMay 11, 2013 (digital)
01. Deus Ex Machina
02. Forever’s Edge
03. Labyrinth of Mirrors
04. Las Lagrimas Del Diablo
05. Rites of Passage
06. Echoes of the Soul
07. Laws of Motion
08. The Fallen Opera
      Act I : Lust
      Act II : Neglect
      Act III : Remorse

Ludovic Desa - lead vocals
Joe McGurk - lead, rhythm, classical guitars
David Deplanche - bass guitars
Kevin Deplanche - Drums

Opposing Motion weave highly melodic and orchestral tapestries mixing technical pieces, intricate musicianship and offering a fresh outlook on the prog-genre bringing together flamenco, classic rock, heavy metal and progressive rock influences for a spectacular end product: high quality progressive metal in the vein of Seventh Wonder, Circus Maximus, Fates Warning and Crimson Glory.
The musical aspects of "Laws of Motion" stem from varied influences from the heavy/prog metal genres but always focus first and foremost on melodies, then layering more creative, technical breaks and sections to take the listener through an exciting and intriguing journey.
The sound achieved on "Laws of Motion" is bigger and heavier than anything the band has done before but the overall vision is to mirror classic heavy metal albums production-wise; powerful yet keeping strong dynamics throughout. Musically, this album is a step up from the original EP and is a lot more ambitious, with a lot of care taken to put forward strong riffs, catchy vocal melodies and epic themes, as demonstrated by the 64 tracks, 10 minute epic final track Fallen Opera which sums up the direction of the band. Lyrical themes edge towards time lost, regrets and being unable to alter paths taken through life seen through multiple scenes and characters.

Forever's Edge

Web page

1 comment :

  1. A heads up on this great news to give links to the FULL album sampler available here:

    The album is now available for pre-order here: