Monday, May 20, 2013

Leprous “Coal”

Country: Norway
Sub GenreProgressive Metal
LabelInsideOut / Century Media
Release date May 20, 2013 (Europe) May 28, 2013 (North America)
01. Foe (05:17)
02. Chronic (07:19)
03. Coal (06:50)
04. The Cloak (04:09)
05. The Valley (08:59)
06. Salt (04:30)
07. Echo (09:41)
08. Contaminate Me (09:04)
09. Bury (04:45)  (limited edition track)
10. Foe Re-Mix (04:02)  (limited edition track)

Einar Solberg - Lead Vocal, Synth
Tor Oddmund Suhrke - Guitar, Vocal
Øystein Landsverk - Guitar, Vocal
Rein Blomquist - Bass
Tobias Ørnes Andersen - Drums

Leprous “Coal” - extraordinary Prog Metal from Norway! A sonic intoxication for fans of King Crimson, Pain of Salvation and Devin Townsend.
From the pounding opener “Foe” to the boundary-pushing closer of “Contaminate Me”, “Coal” is an album full of surprises and with an intense complete flow. Via their first single of “Chronic”, a tune balancing between laid-back melancholy and drama played out almost like a theatre-performance, Leprous lays the foundation of an album that, while fitting nicely into the string of always further developing releases so far, also has something quite new to offer; something that becomes evident already by the third song, the album’s title track, where Leprous effortlessly mix grandiose prog rock with a darker and more minimalistic approach.
The Cloak

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment