Friday, August 18, 2017

The Tronosonic Experience "The Tronosonic Experience"

Country: Norway
Genre(s): Avant Prog, Jazz-Rock
Label: Losen Records (LOS 174)
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: August 18, 2017
1. Die Streif (3:48)
2. Maelstrom (4:49)
3. No Country For Young Men (3:53)
4. Lights As A Feather, Heavy As A Lead Balloon (4:12)
5. The Crossing (5:21)
6. A Quiet Flame (6:47)
7. Catching The Nile Perch (5:59)

Total Time 34:49

Ole Jørgan Bardal: saxophones
Øyvind Nypan: guitar, baryton guitar
Per Harald Ottesen:  bass
Iver Loe Bjørnstad:  drums, percussion

The Tronosonic Experience represents a departure from Losen Records rooster of jazz artists, and is a powerful outing of instrumental rock. The band describes their music as punk-jazzavant- rock, and is inspired by artists as diverse as Ornette Coleman and Black Sabbath, John Coltrane and King Crimson, Cecil Taylor and Terje Rypdal. The Tronosonic Experience's drummer Ivar Loe Bjørnstad and bassist Per Harald Ottesen lay Down a strong foundation of rock riffing over which the saxophonist Ole Jørgen Bardal and guitarist Øyvind Nypan improvise freely. The mood of the album is varied, and was strongly affected by the huge waves of the ocean and the sheer force of the winter storms raging outside the recording studio's windows. The music ranges from the fast paced and hard-hitting tracks Die Streif and The Crossing, via the slowly evolving thunder of Maelstrom and A Quiet Flame, to the quieter vibes of No Country for Young Men and Light as a Feather, Heavy as a Lead Balloon. The closer, Catching the Nile Perch, nicely sums up the album.


No comments :

Post a Comment