Friday, January 25, 2019

The Writhing Squares "Out Of The Ether"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Krautrock, Space Rock, Fusion
Label: Trouble In Mind Records ‎– TIM142
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: January 25, 2019
1. Dirt In My Mind's Eye (4:31)
2. Steely Eyed Missile Man (4:30)
3. Bloodborne Hate And Black Book Mass (3:35)
4. I Turned To The Mirror (7:52)
5. A Whole New Jupiter (19:49)

Total Time 40:17

Kevin Nickles - Saxophones, Vocals, Keyboards, Flute, Percussion
Daniel Provenzano - Bass, Vocals, Keyboards, Percussion

“Out of the Ether” kicks off with the metronomic throb of “Dirt In My Mind’s Eye”, setting the stage for the album’s 5 tracks of minimal, droning ambience, overtaken at times by Nickles’ wailing, saxophone skronk; a mixture of the soulful runs of The Stooges’ Steve McKay & the no-wave stabs of James Chance. “Steely Eyed Missile Man” picks up the pace, with a four-on-the-floor drive underneath Provenzano’s guttural basslines. “Bloodborne Hate and Black Book Mass” and side one closer “I Turned To The Mirror” add the industrial menace of Cabaret Voltaire to a locked-in groove and lysergicly introspective lyrics. Album closer “A Whole New Jupiter” takes up all of the LP version’s side two, slingshotting the listener over the event horizon and thru the center of a sonically sculpted black hole, it’s relentless motorik dirge evolving over the course of the track’s 19-minute runtime into an abstract pulse before lurching back into the groove, riding it into the sun. 


No comments :

Post a Comment