Friday, January 5, 2018

Vantomme "Vegir"

Country: Belgium
Genre(s): Instrumental Progressive Rock, Fusion
Label: Moonjune Records (MJR090)
Format: CD, digital
Release date: January 5, 2018
1. Double Down (7:36)
2. Equal Minds (10:19)
3. Sizzurp (10:45)
4. Playing Chess With Barney Rubble (9:04)
5. The Self Licking Ice-cream Cone (13:08)
6. Plutocracy (4:38)
7. Agent Orange (9:46)
8. Emmetropia (9:00)
9. Odin's Wig (1:54)

Total Time 76:10

Dominique Vantomme: Fender Rhodes Electric Piano, Piano, Mini Moog, Mellotron
Michel Delville (The Wrong Object; douBt; Machine Mass): Electric Guitar
Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel, Stick Men): Bass Guitar, Chapman Stick
Maxime Lenssens: Drums

The spontaneity and freshness of this sizzling, high-altitude set reflects the equally unpretentious manner in which the session itself came together. Tackling some decidedly hip musical sketches of  Dominique Vantomme, the band is given full artistic liberty – and with all participants in top form, the resulting music weaves and winds its way across paths previously untrodden ... in stunning fashion, and with sure footing! In the truest MoonJune tradition, "Vegir" thumbs its nose at convention and showcases these seasoned veteran musicians at the top of their game: with the skill set, bravery and chutzpah to follow their instincts and, in the process, allow the music to seek out and ultimately capture its own form. It slinks; it growls; it stalks; it devours! It grooves; it stutters; it holds you in suspense, then explodes! (... think 'juggling chainsaws' in the sonic realm.  

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment