Friday, January 13, 2017

Pain of Salvation "In the Passing Light of Day"

Country: Sweden
Genre(s): Alternative Progressive Metal/Rock
Label: InsideOut
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release date: January 13, 2017
 1. On A Tuesday (10:22)
2. Tongue Of God (4:53)
3. Meaningless (4:47)
4. Silent Gold (3:23)
5. Full Throttle Tribe (9:05)
6. Reasons (4:45)
7. Angels Of Broken Things (6:24)
8. The Taming Of A Beast (6:33)
9. If This Is The End (6:03)
10. The Passing Light Of Day (15:31)

Total time 71:46

Daniel Gildenlöw – lead vocals, lead guitar
Ragnar Zolberg – lead guitar, lead vocals
Léo Margarit – drums, vocals
Daniel Karlsson – keyboards, vocals
Gustaf Hielm – bass, vocals

The album begins with “On a Tuesday” and from the very first note they let the listener know that their promise for a metal album has been fulfilled, with heavy, jarring, irregular chords that hit you in the face. It’s the heaviest they’ve sounded in years, and put a smile on my face from the first seconds of hearing it. ... the first three songs continue in the classic early Pain of Salvation heavy sounds, the rhythms courtesy of bassist Gustaf Hielm, and drummer Léo Margarit bounce and move in what would be to someone unfamiliar with much prog metal in very unsettling and unusual ways.  Unusual time signatures spring up like daisies, but the whole time they are ground solid to the music being played over it. Even with the heavier moments of BE and Scarsick they haven’t done anything similar to these early songs in fourteen years.
Read th full review by Jonathon Rose at metalwani.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment